I love me some Dim Sum!

If you’ve never had Dim Sum, I seriously urge you to go find a great Dim Sum Restaurant in your area. 

New Capital Dim Sum
Fried Shrimp

Dim Sum is a Chinese version of Tapas.  They’re bite size, appetizer style served in small dishes and are carted in small steam carts that go around table to table.  You pick out what you want and they stamp your order on a ticket that gets added up at the end of your meal.  The dishes average around the $3.00 – $6.00 range.

New Capital Dim Sum
Steamed Shrimp Ball

I’ve been living in Southern California most of my life and have been going to 2 different Dim Sum Restaurants for about 20 years.  Unfortunately, both of these restaurants ended up closing which was a major dilemma for someone like myself.

New Capital Dim Sum
Fried Shrimp Ball

It took some time for my husband and I to find a new place that was remotely close to our home.  I was beginning to think that I would never find one that would satisfy my dim sum cravings, until one faithful day…..Hallelujah!!  We found a place.

New Capital is located in Rowland Heights, a good 30-40 minutes from our place of residence, but well worth the drive.  They are open from 9:30 am to 1:00 am Monday thru Friday and 8:30 am to 1:00 am on Saturday and 8:30 am to 12:00 midnight on Sundays.  But if you’re in the mood for dim sum, I believe they only serve it from 9:30 am to 3:00ish pm.

New Capital Dim Sum
Steamed Chinese Broccoli

I warn you right now, DO NOT go there when you’re already extremely hungry because more often the not, they will be busy and have a crowd standing out the door.  A sign of a great dim sum restaurant is by the overwhelming amount of Chinese and Asians waiting to be seated.  You know it’s good!

New Capital Dim Sum
Egg Custard (Daan Taat)

The restaurant itself seats a large amount of customers and it’s been full every time I’ve gone there to eat.  They have various displays of seafood in fish tanks right outside and by the front door.  They boast a pretty big selection of wines and you can smell the dim sum from all the carts that are pushed between tables.

If you’re looking for great customer service with a smile, I will tell you right now….you’ll probably be disappointed.  This dim sum restaurant ( like many out there) have unbelievable great food and fast turn around, but they lack in friendly service.  So, if you’re there to eat and enjoy great tasting dim sum you will surely be in for a treat and a full belly!

New Capital Dim Sum
Custard Bun

My all time favorites are the sio mai, shrimp and vegetable dumpling, beef balls, Chinese broccoli, fried shrimp ball, shrimp dumpling (har gow), egg custard tart (daan taat) and the egg custard bun.  The variety is plentiful but get your favorites at the get go, or they may run out and you’ll be regretting it on the way home.

 

New Capital Sio Mai
Sio Mai
New Capital Dim Sum
Shrimp and Vegetable Dumpling

My one very important tip to you, is get there between 10:30 and 1:00 if you want a better chance at a great selection and hot food.  I guarantee that there will be a wait to get seated at these times, but I have found these times to be the most optimal for selection and food preparation.  You’ll have to pay the price by waiting, but it will be worth it.

If you live in the area, I urge you to give New Capital a try and let me know what you think of this dim sum restaurant.  If you know if any others in the area, I would love for you to share it here.

New Capital Dim sum

Leave a Reply

