A hankering for fresh, homemade Tamales

If you’re looking for fresh, homemade, pork tamales in the Inland Empire, CA area, Lupe is your girl!

I was never a big fan of Mexican food for a good part of my life.  My first memory of having Mexican food was when I was in 5th grade and had my first bean burrito at my elementary school cafeteria.  Now I know that I shouldn’t  have based my like/dislike for something from a school cafeteria menu, but I didn’t know any better.

So, for the first 20 something years of my life, I stayed away from any Mexican related food items.  If memory serves me right, I didn’t have my first fresh burrito, no beans until I was 23 years of age!

I can now say, at the age of 43, I’ve come to love Mexican cuisine!  Now, I’m still quite picky at what I will like.  So, when I do find those fresh quality food, I tend to just love them for life.

tamales by Lupe
Fresh, hot, homemade tamales

So, here’s my recommendation for great homemade tamales.  I met Lupe’s son, Richard, through Facebook.  Yes, through Facebook, you read it right.  I live in the Inland Empire, CA area and saw someone asking about homemade tamales on a group page.  That peaked my interest and  saw a few people post that they made them.  So, I decided to go ahead and give it a try.

Richard, the very enthusiastic and good son, posted about his mom’s tamales and I gave him a message.  We exchanged info, I told him what I wanted and 2 days later, we had our tamales…hot, fresh, and delivered!

Now, being picky about my Mexican food, I was very critical with my first taste.  I must say, it came as a very nice surprise.

I loved everything about it.  You could taste the freshness and the love that Lupe puts into her cooking.  The masa is moist and flavorful.  The meat filling is tasty and bountiful not at all bland and skimpy.  It is proportioned and combined well between meat and the masa.  I added a little pico de gallo because I like the cold, crunchiness of the vegetables with the hot tamale and red sauce.  I didn’t need anything else!  It was perfect!

homemade tamale
Pork Tamales with red sauce

We ordered 2 dozen and all 2 dozen were gone by the next day.  It was that good.  Since then, we’ve ordered 2 more dozen and have another order coming tomorrow.  This time we’re trying the chicken along with pork.

So, if you’re having a hankering for really fresh quality homemade tamales and live in the Inland Empire, CA area, give Lupe a call.  She is absolutely wonderful!  Let her know that Anna and Robert sent you.  Her phone number is (909)527-0661.  Her Pork and Chicken Tamales are $15/dozen.  Sauce is $4 extra and delivery is $5 from Upland to North Fontana.  Please double check on delivery prices.

What more can you ask for?  Fresh homemade tamales delivered to your door, hot and ready to devour!  It’s a big thumbs up!!  Thank you, Richard and Lupe!

Update:  I’ve just learned from Richard: “My mom started making tamales last year because she lost her job and wanted to buy her grandchildren Christmas presents. She would have never thought making 100 tamales a day (due to high demand) would be in her future”.  Congrats, Lupe!  You’ve got a great thing going and we wish you the best of luck for the coming year.

*** I was in no way paid or compensated for this review. This is just one person giving an opinion.

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

