Crafter’s Block: Doodling for no reason but to doodle.

How I unexpectedly doodled my way out of  “crafter’s block”.

We’ve all heard the phrase “writer’s block”, well I do believe that I’ve had “crafter’s block” this past week.

Yup, that is what I’ve had. I have my yarn stash….but I can’t seem to find a new project to do. I have a huge jewelry inventory….but I can’t decide on a new design. I know I need to write blog posts on a regular basis….but I’m drawing a blank on topics.

Does this ever happen to you? What do you do when this happens?

The last couple of days, I’ve found myself doodling for no reason but to doodle. My hands are so used to doing something whether it be crochet, making jewelry, etc that just sitting at my desk staring at the computer was driving me insane!

doodle sketching for the heck of it
Doodling for no reason but to doodle

So, not really knowing what I was going to do, I grabbed a torn piece of paper and started doodling. Before I knew it I had a partial face staring right back at me! LOL

Arrows, Stephen Amell's daughter sketch
Sketch of Stephen Amell’s daughter

The next day, I ended up drawing Stephen Amell’s (Actor from the TV show, Arrow) daughter just by looking at one of his facebook photos.

*  On hind sight, I really wished I had drawn on my sketch book instead of a small piece of paper.  LOL  Lesson learned….keep a sketch book at my desk at all times!

I haven’t drawn in years and I’d forgotten how great it feels to create something with just a pencil and paper.  Yes, I haven’t created anything for my business or my blog.  Some might say that I haven’t been productive since doodling won’t make me any money, but it was well worth it in my opinion.

I was able to destress from my everyday pressures of having my own business and blog.  I took a step away from it and did something unexpected.  I rediscovered the love of drawing once again.

I think we all need to do that once in a while.  We need to step away from our usual routine and let our mind and our body direct us in a direction that we wouldn’t normally take or do….not something that we’re supposed to do or expected to do.  So, when you’re feeling blocked….. doodle for no reason but to doodle!

Doodle

A doodle is an unfocused or unconscious drawing made while a person’s attention is otherwise occupied. Doodles are simple drawings that
Leave a Reply

